Forums

Login Required

Please login to participate in the forums.
PrevPrev Go to previous topic
NextNext Go to next topic
Last Post 07/13/2016 7:46 AM by  Jen
What to do if I feel faint?
 5 Replies
AddThis - Bookmarking and Sharing Button
Sort:
You are not authorized to post a reply.
Author Messages
LoraJanae

--
06/09/2016 12:10 AM
    I'm new to Sunstone, I've attended yoga classes in the past (it's been a few years) and I was always fine, but I had always steered clear of hot yoga. I took advantage of the first class free offer & tried a barre class earlier this week, and passed out. Which was a real bummer, because the class was really fun and was kicking my butt, which I need! We had finished up with planks and stood up to go to the barre, and I just got this horrible head rush that got worse and worse the longer I stood up. After a few seconds I had completely lost my hearing and I couldn't feel my legs (I'm assuming my vision went too, but I can't be sure because the room was dark for glow barre (such a fun idea!) so I couldn't really see anyway.) I decided to step back and sit down before I totally collapsed, and the instructor was super sweet and helpful, she checked on me several times and brought me a wet towel with ice, which seemed to help quite a bit. I also chugged water the whole time I was on the ground. I felt a lot better after a few minutes and stood back up and tried to rejoin the class, but after about 10 seconds everything had gone fuzzy & I had to sit down again! I repeated this cycle a couple of times, and when the instructor asked if I needed to leave the class, I figured I probably should. Another teacher came out of the room with me and made sure I was okay (seriously, I cannot say enough about how totally awesome the ATC staff is!) I've passed out before, and I get headrushes from time to time whenever I hop up too fast, so I'm pretty familiar with the process, and normally I can take a few deep breaths & lean on something for a minute